How to Set a Sitewide Password on SmugMug?

Mambo is a free photo/video backup assistant that helps you to keep your memories backed up to your SmugMug account.

Users in 130+ countries trust Mambo.

Trusted by users in 130+ countries.

Do you want to keep your SmugMug site just to yourself and restrict access to anyone? Yes, you can do that. Here, a guide on how to set a sitewide password on SmugMug for you to let no one browse through your site.

Set a Sitewide Password on SmugMug

  • Log in to your SmugMug account.
  • To set a sitewide password, go to the ‘Account Settings’ and select the ‘Privacy’ tab.
  • From the dropdown menu of the ‘Site Access’, select ‘People with Password’.
  • In the ‘Set Site Viewing Password’ field, enter a password.
  • There’s also an option for ‘Set Site Viewing Hint’ which the visitors will see when they are asked for a password.

You can also set private sharing to be sitewide which enables you to invite people to view your site.

  • In the ‘Account Settings’, click the ‘Privacy’ tab.
  • Select ‘People I Choose’ under the dropdown menu of ‘Site Access’.
  • Now, enter email addresses of people that you would like to invite.
  • After entering the addresses, click ‘Save and Exit’ in the header bar to send your invitation.
  • You can invite 200 people to view your site.

Once you set the password, a lock icon will appear next to your name on your homepage. You name, galleries, keywords and photos will be removed from sitewide search of SmugMug. If your visitor lands on your homepage, then they will asked for the site password.